[M.A.P.L.E. V-24] Meeting the parents

I had this blog idea in my notebook, and I’m not sure where the inspiration came from, but it’s something that I wanted to write about a little bit. Thus, here goes nothing!

In the popular media, it seems that one of the harrowing experiences for people in “significant-other” relationships is to meet the opposite parents. The fearmongering seems to be further exacerbated in some shows, where “the in laws” is the cup of hemlock. (Reminds me of an old cartoon about the “House of the Future” where there was a special, ratty entrance for the Mother-In-Law.)

Perhaps it’s different for me, but then again, I have never been a “significant other” in any of my relationships. Nevertheless, if I do eventually develop a new relationship which is a significant-other type relationship, or even if one of my existing friendships goes “deeper,” I am not intimidated whatsoever at the prospect of meeting the parents. (Particularly for the latter case, since I have become seemingly quasi-family with a few of my closest friends).

In fact, for several of my good friends, I met their parents shortly after meeting them, or was invited to meet the parents due to various activities (e.g. holiday dinners, sporting events, or places where they/I were anyway).

Because I hold strong family values, and I feel that almost all of my friends hold similar values, there is no stigma or fear of me meeting the friends’ parents. Plus, I virtually always manage to find common ground in some way, shape, or form, and when I was younger, got along better with the adults than my own peers.

Times are a’changing, however, since I have gained the ability to commune with peers, especially since 2011. And that is a good thing!

===========================================

Today is the twenty-fourth day of the fifth round of M.A.P.L.E. That makes three weeks and three days.

היום אחד ושלושים יום-שהם ארבעה שבועות שלושה ימים לעומר

Rochester: 3 days.

Kenosha West: 8 days.

Twenty-Nine: 40 days.

Let's have a conversation!

