Bill

Despite the name of the post, there is no specific person’s name, and definitely not William.

Nope, I’m talking about the word which also might be called “cheque,” “check,” “receipt,” or a similar word at a restaurant. For the purposes of this post, I will use the word “bill.”

For breakfast today, I ate at Walker Bros. in Wilmette, and enjoyed an omelette with spinach, onions, tomatoes, and red peppers. It was quite tasty, and as I finished the omelette, my server dropped the bill on the table without the bifold receptacle for a credit card and/or cash.

Having been to this restaurant before, I knew that I had to take said bill to the cash register at the entrance in order to pay it.

It makes me think about other restaurants–every restaurant seems to have its own way to pay the bill…

  • At most fast-food or other quick-service (including fast-casual) restaurants, like McDonald’s, Arby’s, Subway, St. Louis Bread Company, or Noodles & Company, you order your food at a counter and immediately pay your bill there.
  • At some sit-down restaurants, you order your food from a server, and receive your bill from the server, paying her/him immediately with whatever method you have.
  • At some sit-down restaurants, you order your food from a server, receive your bill from the server, and then have to flag them down to pay because they disappear from your table immediately or so it seems!
  • At some sit-down restaurants, you order your food from a server, receive your bill from the server, and have to take the bill to a cash register to pay (e.g. Walker Bros.) .
  • And unfortunately, at some places, they are vulnerable to Dine-and-Dash.

Well, I hate to admit this, but there is one time that I inadvertently dine-and-dashed. So here’s my self-incriminating story.

November 20, 2010. I had woken up at 03:00 in order to catch the Northwestern fan bus to Wrigley Field for the Northwestern/Illinois game, in order to have a chance to be on ESPN GameDay. After the Northwestern game ended at 18:00-ish, I headed immediately to a Husker bar near Wrigleyville to watch the Huskers take on Texas A&M at 19:00.

However, since I was up so early in the morning, my body was telling me around halftime of this game to go home and get to sleep. During the first half, I had bought the $5 chicken strips special that they had (with no other food or drinks excluding water), but by halftime, I fled due to my mentally-exacerbated stomachache.

It didn’t occur to me that I had forgotten to pay until I was already back at my apartment. I wasn’t at my own table, so it might not have been dine-and-dash, but rather shaft-someone-near-me-on-accident-and-flee.

Not something I’ll be doing again, and I still apologize to whichever Husker fan had to pick up my (very light for a bar!) tab.

===========================================

Kenosha: 25 days.

Orientation: 39 days.

Day 1: 64 days.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

