[Taglit 5-Year Retrospective-part 11 of 11] Shorashim

In the midst of the heat wave, we spent the שבת (Shabbat) on קיבוץ אלמוג (Kibbutz Almog). The day was relaxing, yet it was mentally taxing due to (a) the heat, and the inability to go in the pool, (b) the sadness of leaving shortly after sundown.

You can read the original post by clicking on this paragraph.

The name of our Birthright trip organizer, שורשים (Shorashim) means “roots” in Hebrew. Therefore, I would like to reflect on that both from the Birthright trip, as well as what is happening right now–there is a link in a way!

Originally, I was going to write about the phrase שלום חברים (shalom chaverim: hello/goodbye/peace friends). I can use the hello/goodbye aspects to motivate the idea of roots, and actually keep some of my original material.

The services that we did in the morning were a type of שלום חברים (in the Hello sense) to [חיה, חווה, וגלעד [ז”ל (Chaya, Chava, and Gilad [zecher livracha]) {hope the formatting doesn’t screw up here…}: respectively Cathy, Heather, and Gleb [RIP]). Each of them got their Hebrew name and/or became a בר\בת מצווה (bar/bat mitzvah), and in some sense were “officially” welcomed to the tribe, planting roots within the community. I experienced this (from the peanut gallery) a few other times in recent years with patrilineal converts receiving their first עלייה (aliyah–call to the Torah).

Interestingly, the Reading of מסעי (Massey: Journeys) well-described this whole journey, and each place that I visited meant something new, and led to new connections and friends. Despite being in Israel for only 10 days, I feel like the journeys that I took planted some of my roots there. When a place really touches you, or the people therein, you plant roots, and it is often hard to uproot once anything is set!

A similar thing has happened this weekend, five years later, in fact! On Monday, I move from Menomonie to Kenosha, but the movers came to pick up my stuff on Thursday. I am spending the weekend in the Twin Cities, reading הפטרה (Haftarah) today, and going to a 20s/30s picnic tomorrow. I have forged a strong connection with the Jewish community here, especially in the last 3 months, and it’s going to be harder, emotionally, than I might have thought when I moved to Menomonie, to move away.

Yet, because of these roots that I have planted, I know the paths of my friends from Israel, from Birthright, and from Menomonie/Twin Cities/Eau Claire will cross again. As like what happened on the last episode of Sunny-Side Up with Kristin and Lindsay, the key is to not say “goodbye,” but to say “see you later.”

The Hebrew word for “see you later” is להתראות (l’heat’rah’oat), but to some people it can also mean “good-bye.” And as Kristin and Lindsay said from a quote, “Good-bye means going away, and going away means forgetting.” And I don’t want to forget the magic of Israel or the friends that I met along the way! Therefore, the operative word is “See you later!” Whenever that may turn out to be…

Summary paragraph of this reflection, which maybe builds up the whole trip: Going to Israel was a life-changing experience. I met a bunch of new friends, learnt a lot about myself and my Judaism, and saw wonderful sights. I have become much more social since the trip, and now enjoy going to services for the community in addition to the singing. And in keeping with the Shorashim theme, I’ve realized the roots that I have laid down in recent places that I have lived or taken lengthy vacations to.

Before I get to some pictures from the last day of the trip, I want to share a song that I heard a few weeks after I returned. One of the words in the song was שורשיםת, which immediately brought the trip back to my mind…

ועכשיו, הנה התמונות, אבל התמונות ראשונה ושינית אסורות מהלכה! (And now, here are some pictures, though the first and second were prohibited by Jewish law, [since they were taken during the sabbatical day!])

"Shabbat Shalom Spring Breakers!" A picture of most of the group. (I was not in the pool as a result of the arm repair.) Photo credit: Sarah (Zollo) Rabin.

“Shabbat Shalom Spring Breakers!” A picture of most of the group. (I was not in the pool as a result of the arm repair–notice the white band around my right arm.) Photo credit: Sarah (Zollo) Rabin.

Noah filling out his Israel map, marking the places that the group went. Photo credit: Carly (Levin) Bernstein.

Noah filling out his Israel map, marking the places that the group went. Photo credit: Carly (Levin) Bernstein.

 

The whole group at the airport, prior to the Americans returning to New York. Photo credit: Jared Rabin.

The whole group at the airport, prior to the Americans returning to New York. Photo credit: Jared Rabin.

=========================================

Check out the remaining entries in this sequence!

[Taglit 5-Year Retrospective] The Travel To Israel

[Taglit 5-Year Retrospective-part 2 of 11] Achim Simcha

[Taglit 5-Year Retrospective-part 3 of 11] Take a hike!

[Taglit 5-Year Retrospective-part 4 of 11] A Shabbat in Israel

[Taglit 5-Year Retrospective-part 5 of 11] Awwwwwesome

[Taglit 5-Year Retrospective-part 6 of 11] Primary Sources

[Taglit 5-Year Retrospective-part 7 of 11] Sinat Chinam (and Ahavat Chinam)

[Taglit 5-Year Retrospective part 8 of 11] A Place in Time 

[Taglit 5-Year Retrospective part 9 of 11] Music

[Taglit 5-Year Retrospective part 10 of 11] Union

[Taglit 5-Year Retrospective part 11 of 11] Shorashim (You are here!)

===========================================

Kenosha: 2 days.

Orientation: 16 days.

Day 1: 39 days.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

