Wood Anniversary

It’s that time again! Right after I got back from Birthright in 2011, I signed up for a blog on WordPress, with the goal of sharing my journals, not only from the trip, but also other thoughts. Today is the “Wood Anniversary” (i.e., fifth anniversary) of the blog! (Hooray!)

Thus, just as I reflected on my Israel trip during the last 10 days, I might as well reflect on my blogging journey through the last 5 years.

When I started my blog, the posts were purely text-based, and mostly focused on memories, whether they be paragraph-style journal entries or listicles based on songs that came up on my MP3 player. I also had quite a few posts based on my religious experiences, and a few “random” posts.

I began M.A.P.L.E. in 2012, and used that as an outlet for more frequent posts. I began writing about my Asperger’s syndrome, and the post “Drawn together” led to my best day on my blog, in terms of traffic. I really enjoyed it, and kept the blogging going each day that month.

Throughout my first year of blogging, however, I didn’t keep to a schedule other than M.A.P.L.E. and O.C.T.O.B.E.R. There were otherwise frequent gaps of a week or more between posts. I got to my 100th career post during my first run of O.C.T.O.B.E.R., and enjoyed writing it. Once again, there was no theme.

I’ve always danced to my own drummer when it comes to blogging, but starting in 2012, and becoming more frequent in 2014, I took advice from professional bloggers and The Daily Post to get inspiration for blog posts. It added a new dimension, particularly when I did non-personal-episodic-based posts, such as creative writing.

In late 2013, I was challenged by my cousin Jeff to write a blog post every day in 2014, and this took the guise of M.M.X.I.V., and later evolved into Mission 441. It took some discipline to find blog topics every day, but I found that it was quite enjoyable to get into a routine of writing every day. (Although sometimes I wrote two blog posts and used the Scheduler feature.)

After that, I tried to write three times a week, but once I moved to Menomonie, this proved challenging since my first real job was much more involved than I originally thought.

Has the quality of my writing changed over the five years that I have been blogging? That is up to the readers to decide. If you have read the Taglit 5-Year Retrospective sequence, you have links to my first set of blog posts, and can compare them to some of the recent posts.

Here’s to another five years of blogging!

===========================================

Kenosha: Next right.

Orientation: 15 days.

Day 1: 38 days.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

