E’en an eel!

I’m probably screwing up on the common three-letter crossword clue for “after afternoon, in poetry.” Oh well. It’s a fun way to introduce the idea of evenings being eels. What do I mean by that? They slip away!

Take today, for example. I planned on doing my laundry, making dinner, doing some journal transfer, and writing a blog post (not necessarily in that order). So, here’s a list of what I did, starting at 17:00. (Don’t worry, I won’t go Rat on you–nobody’s heading for the trash can or Dumpster!)

17:00: Returned from work and a grocery trip. Put away the groceries into the refrigerator and cabinets.

17:20: Cleared out my backpack to include it with the dirty laundry to wash, but retracted that plan after seeing that my coloured load was already full.

17:30: Fed a total of 12 quarters to the zero-armed bandits in a promissory note to wash my clothes in 32 minutes. Returned to my apartment, hit my goal proxy variable of 10,000 steps, and read through some documents to either jettison or retain afterward. Including benefits that I need to act on…

18:15: Transferred the wash loads to the dryers. During the 50-minute cycle, made burgers and fries. Ate the first half of my meal before the dry cycle ended.

19:10: Hoisted the tubs of cleaned laundry down a creepy hallway and then up two flights of stairs to my apartment. (Mission still in progress.)

19:15: Part two of the meal commenced, but was interrupted by a Dina call, as both of us were on speakerphone–she was driving and I was eating. Though we could still understand each other.

20:00: Dinner mission accomplished!

20:05: Folded non-hanging clothes (i.e. undergarments, T-shirts, shorts) and stowed them on the high shelves of the walk-in closet.

20:25: Attended to pressing matters while also distracting myself with US Open tennis and a taped episode of The Pyramid. And then watching the Cubs try to rally against the Pirates. Oh, and Dad texting me, asking me for the maximum of the function $f(x)=x^{1/x}$.

22:00: The gallows are carried away, leaving the clothes clad in ectoplasm. Laundry mission: Accomplished!

22:30: A meta-post on the day. Blog mission: Accomplished!

22:35: Gotta wash ’em all, and I don’t have Higitus Figitus or any Water-type Pokemon working for me!

22:36: Cubs score a home run to tie the score 6-6 in the bottom of the 9th!

23:00: Getting ready for bed. Journal transfer mission: Failed!

23:50: Waiting until the Cubs game ends… it’s still tied at 6 in the top of the 13th!

23:54: Pirates hit a sac fly to go up 7-6 in the top of the 13th.

24:06: Cubs get three consecutive zero-out hits to tie it at 7-7. Runners at the corners! Intentional walk to load the bases.

24:10: CUBS WIN! AND NOW I WILL GO TO SLEEP!

Yes, evenings can slip away from you when you try to squeeze too much into them, OR underestimate how long it takes to do laundry! But now, Zs TAKE OVER!!

===========================================

Carthage Teaching: 8 days

NU vs NU: 25 days

High Holidays: 34 days

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

