[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. V-2] Boing!

My personal computer recently upgraded without my knowledge. Last weekend when I started it, it took a long time and I got the blue screen (thankfully not the Blue Screen of Death) with “Getting Windows ready… please do not turn off your PC.”

The taskbar’s icons are now slightly different, and an annoying popup on the computer has made its way incessantly:

“You need to fix your Microsoft account for apps on your other devices to be able to launch apps and continue experiences on this device.”

What in the world does that mean? I have had a lot of annoyance with unbeknownst upgrades and having new forcing by Microsoft. It’s really annoying!

This is just one of many pop-ups on my computers that I would like to be able to suppress. Unlike Internet browsers, which usually have pop-up blockers, the computer will continue to pop up announcements and annoying messages. Some other pop-ups which occur (not necessarily worded exactly):

  • The backup drive could not be found. Reconnect it.
  • You have apps which are negatively impacting your startup speed.
  • You can save disk space by running CCleaner.
  • Would you like to restart your computer to finish completing updates?
    • Eventually, the computer will take a mind of its own, update and restart, and then upon restart, give the pop-up message “Updates were installed.”

I have also had pop-up problems on my phone as well. Sometimes, when I use Facebook or Twitter on my phone, navigating to a website that is perfectly safe on the computer, I will get a pop-up message that says “You have a chance to win a gift card!” and then my browser redirects me to a fishy (and probably phishy) site.

The latter: I don’t know whether my phone may have a virus or adware from another use of it. Any good ways to search and destroy malware on phones?

===========================================

High Holidays: Next right!

End of the Ad-Hominems: 36 days

Lincoln: 79 days

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

