[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. V-11] Al Chet

Al Chet = For The Sins. It’s part of the Vidui (וידוי), which roughly translates to Confession.

During the יום כיפור (Yom Kippur) services, the וידוי are recited ten times over the course of the 25 hours. It includes multiple alphabetical acrostics in Hebrew, and so I figure that I should ask for forgiveness from my readers, family, and friends using my own English alphabetical acrostic.

And, I’ll use the same TUNE as what is frequently used in services. Ergo, this is an optional video post!

My family, friends, and acquaintances: Forgive me, pardon me, and I will do the same for you:

For my acquiescence without really thinking,

and for my biased non-politics.

For the ceaseless conversations,

and for the doubt in my own students.

For the errors that I frequently made at the board,

and for the flatulence that randomly stinks up the place.

 

For all of these problems, those closest to me, forgive me, pardon me, and I will do the same for you:

 

For the guffaws at inappropriate times.

and for the half-baked explanations.

For the ineffable that I may have effed anyway,

and for the jocular attitude at a bad time.

For the krazy misuse of the letter “K” in alphabetics,

and for the lateness of my notes of gratitude.

 

 

For all of these problems, those closest to me, forgive me, pardon me, and I will do the same for you:

 

For the mysterious marks on your papers,

and for the needless excuses that I have made.

For the obliviousness to the oppressed people,

and for the preposterous lecture with inverse functions.

For the quizzes that were terribly designed,

and for the rudeness that I may have unintentionally shown.

 

For all of these problems, those closest to me, forgive me, pardon me, and I will do the same for you:

 

For the sacrificed sleep in desperate work,

and for the train-wrecks in my first go-arounds.

For the unannounced surprise presence or absences,

and for the vague plans regarding my research*.

For the willy-nilly that stands on its own

and for the xysters that I figuratively take to grading.

For the yielding when I don’t have a strong opinion,

and for the zoning off when I really should be working.

 

For all of these problems, those closest to me, forgive me, pardon me, and I will do the same for you!

ועל כולם, חברים שמבינים: סלח לי, מחל לי, ואני אעשה אותו לכם!

===========================================

End of the Ad-Hominems: 28 days

Thanksgiving: 44 days

Lincoln: 70 days

blog signature

(* The “V” line was changed after the video was posted, because I definitely wanted to have an apology about the research…)

Let's have a conversation!

