[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. V-26] Time Flies

Yesterday, I talked about fruit flies. Today, I wanted to talk about Time Flies, since I saw some memories on Facebook from nineteen years ago that I wanted to bring up.

Saturday-Sunday, October 25-26: A SNOWSTORM paralyses Lincoln and Omaha, dropping about 13 inches of snow on the cities. Tree branches are broken, snowplows are running late since the big storm was unexpected, and power was lost.

The previous year was my first year that the school district that I was in had canceled zero days due to weather. Granted, it seemed that Lincoln Public Schools was much more conservative about snow days than Fort Dodge School District.

…at least until October 1997 came along. This storm knocked out the district for a whole week! My family got very lucky, because we never lost power during the storm. Sure, we were trapped in our house until the Tuesday or Wednesday of that week, but it was fine.

I remember the Saturday night that the storm started, my family had just returned from the Soccer Bubble which is now a gymnastics gymnasium (I think it’s Solid Rock, if I recall correctly. It’s the one just west of Van Dorn and 9th Street.)

Sunday school was snowed out, and that was fine with me–I never liked Hebrew school!

On the Monday, the most salient activity was watching “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory,” not long after having read the Roald Dahl book. I was convinced that Gene Wilder reminded me of my art teacher, Mr. Fischer.

Fast-forwarding to the Wednesday, we managed to dig ourselves out, and the day was bright and sunny. We went to Parkway Lanes to bowl, and then had lunch at the Dairy Queen on 48th, between Prescott and Pioneers. I don’t know why we didn’t just eat at the Parkway Grill… their food is so good!

The next day, which was the day before Halloween, we drove to Omaha, and went to Aunt Pam’s house. Earlier in that day, I think I remember walking with Levi as he went door-to-door in the neighborhood, selling Boy Scout popcorn.

And on Halloween, we had no trouble trick-or-treating. By that time, I think I was getting restless and was quite excited to return to school–I had already missed a week earlier in the year due to our “vacation” to Chicago for the AAFP convention.

The aftermath of the storm: from mid-November until mid-January, all of the school days extended by about an hour, which meant for late evenings since Hebrew school on Mondays and Wednesdays was ergo pushed back.

This storm may have been an impetus for LPS to change their calendars for the 1999-2000 school year: a full week off was granted in October (as a vacation at the end of the quarter), a shortened Christmas break but a full week off in mid-January for semester break, and then a full week off for spring break. They were also toying with the idea of year-round school at a few schools: 9 weeks on, 3 weeks off, even during the summer.

Nevertheless, I remember the storm and can’t believe that it happened nineteen years ago. Time really does fly!

===========================================

Today is the twenty-sixth day of O.C.T.O.B.E.R. That makes three weeks and five days.

End of the Ad-Hominems: 13 days

Thanksgiving: 29 days

Lincoln: 55 days

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

