[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. V-27] Chili and Cinnamon Rolls (Part 3 of 3: Too Much BOB; Legacy)

Three weeks ago, I set up for a three-part sequence of posts. In the first post, I discussed hearing on the radio something about chili and cinnamon rolls at school. In the second post, there was the first attempt at the rendezvous, and then the mulligan which succeeded. At the end of that post, I had mentioned that I would save the major legacy for this post. So… here goes!

Among the conversations that happened at that lunch table, one of the conversations related to a frequent caller that Joe and Timmo got. This caller would call whenever they played a song by Bob Seger. Said caller evidently despised Seger songs, so he would call, and give a terse message before hanging up:

“Too much BOB.”

For whatever reason, this hung in my family’s heads. At that point, I wasn’t aware of which songs Bob Seger sang, so I was neutral in this situation.  Mom, however, was not a big Bob fan.

The next morning, before school, she heard a Bob Seger song, called The Eagle, and said, under laughter, “No more BOB!” and hung up.

When the show returned, Joe and Timmo were talking about the lunch from the previous day, and how Mrs. Weiss [they pronounced it rhyming with ‘vice,’ as opposed to our pronunciation that rhymes with ‘peace’] called, saying “No more BOB!” Their response:

“Get it straight! It’s ‘TOO MUCH BOB.'”

I didn’t hear this part of the show, because I was already in school, so I only heard the story second-hand.

Nevertheless, it made me realize that I could build rapport with radio personalities. In the 15-plus years since this event, I have built rapport with Joe, now with Gina (on B107.3), and occasionally call in when they have an interesting prompt. Also, when I am back in Lincoln, I like to attempt to call in to play the daily game show (Battle of the Sexes from 2002-2014; 4 And No More since then).

27Maybe in the near future, I’ll have to call in when I hear a song from an artist that I don’t like. “Too much Imbruglia” or “Too much Bieber” might be good candidates…

Other personalities that I have built rapport with due to listening to the radio include the following. I can tell, with the power of retrospect, that this experience was huge for me in helping me to break out of my shell:

  • Lisa Duran and Amber Linn from Star 104.5 (KSRZ-Omaha) when the Ultimate 80’s Request Party played from 2003-2007. Unlike the other personalities on this list, I never met either of them face-to-face.
  • Matt Coatney for the Husker Sports Network. This is a little bit of a cheat, since his radio aspect is as a play-by-play commentator for Husker women’s basketball.
  • Kristin Kim and Lindsay Barranco, from Sunny-Side Up With Kristin and Lindsay on WNUR-Evanston/Chicago.
  • Ari Ross, Ben Goren, and other Northwestern sportscasters with WNUR Sports.
  • Kim Tunney from the Funny Tunney Comedy Hour on WNUR.
  • Various other call-in shows that I have participated in. Of course, this gets back to my Loyalty Card!

Who knows what other radio personalities I will continue to follow? The future is exciting!

===========================================

Today is the twenty-seventh day of O.C.T.O.B.E.R. That makes three weeks and six days.

End of the Ad-Hominems: 12 days

Thanksgiving: 28 days

Lincoln: 54 days

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

