[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. V-28] Hospitality room

Last night, I drove over to Lake Geneva (a Long-40-Minutes drive from my apartment) and played in the Central States Regional bridge tournament. I played in the Open Side Series game, partnering with Mike J. Although we didn’t earn masterpoints, I still had a great time!

This post is more about the post-game experience. When I was walking through the lodge to get to the tournament room, I walked past many hotel-style rooms through a network of sinewy hallways. Once on the same level as the tournament, one of the rooms said, “Central States Regional Hospitality Room — Open 22:30-Midnight…”

Thus, since it was on my way back to the car anyway, I dropped by the hospitality room, and had a good time! I enjoyed some cookies, some candy, and some Coke (ah yes… the three C’s of vices🙂 ). I chatted with a few of the people, including Suzi Subeck, one of the head honchos.

This was the first time that I had been to a hospitality room at a bridge tournament, but certainly not the first time I have been to a hospitality room.

Indeed, with many of the שמחות (life-cycle events, i.e. בני מצוה וחתונות [bar/bat mitzvah and weddings]) on my Mom’s side of the family, the hotel where everyone stayed had a hospitality room, for family hanging out, sometimes watching a sporting event, board games, conversations, and of course, snacky food! When I was younger, I loved the hospitality rooms for the food, and didn’t really care about the conversation. But now, the gathering place is what it is for, and the food is just a bonus!

In fact, one of my favorite recent hospitality room memories was at my cousin Aaron’s wedding three years ago, when the family got into a big game of Apples To Apples.

Hospitality rooms have not generally been true of events on my Dad’s side of the family, but each family does things differently. I have still enjoyed the events from my Dad’s side of the family, although those events tended to come on a more regular basis (e.g. holiday meals).

Hopefully I’ll go to another bridge tournament and enjoy the hospitality room with my partner and potential opponents later. It’s a great thing about bridge: you might be fierce competitors at the table, but afterward, it seems to be a good group of people!

===========================================

Today is the twenty-seventh day of O.C.T.O.B.E.R. That makes three weeks and six days.

End of the Ad-Hominems: 12 days

Thanksgiving: 28 days

Lincoln: 54 days

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

