Double probation averted!

This post combines the best (worst?) of two of my older posts based on something that happened today. And yet it has a happy ending.

Those posts are “Pants on fire” and “Locked out!

In the former post, I recalled the time when I committed perjury in front of my parents and got a week-long probation at the beginning of my senior year of high school. In the latter post, I told the story of having to call the Stout fuzz to bail me out of a lockout.

Well, today, in some sense, both of those stories come into play.

I had a long day at the office preparing a homework assignment for my Finite Math class, after having to reconsider it. The students are seeming to struggle on what I thought would be elementary background material. Obviously this assumption is a recurring thorn in my side at the beginning of new preps!

I left the office around 18:10, and rode my bike home. When I got there, I dug into my pockets.

No keys.

No cell phone.

Checking my backpack, the only things inside were planner, grading material, and electronics cords. No keys. No cell phone.

Ergo, the idea for this post came. I “could” have been on double probation—one for losing my keys and one for being “in the wild” without a cell phone.

Well, I got back safely to the office, and I am thankfully lockout-proof with respect to my office.

The office door has a key lock but also a permutation keypad. Therefore, since I know the code, I was able to safely and legally bust into my office to recover keys and phone.

It actually makes me realize that I have managed to be in situations in the last year and a half that have idiot-proofed me from lockouts:

  • In Menomonie, my apartment door had only a deadbolt and a chain–there was no lock on the doorknob itself. Therefore, it was impossible to lock myself out of my unit, though I could still lock myself out of the building!
  • As mentioned here, it is virtually impossible for me to lock myself out of my office unless the keypad fails or they change the password on me, or if my memory gets wiped!

Of course, I realize that I won’t always have “free” bail-outs of lockouts. And they’re not always free even if free of charge—there’s still the annoyance of having to ask for someone to unlock the door!

===========================================

Road Trip: 39 days

פסח: ס”ג ימים (Passover: 63 days)

ארץ ישראל: קי”ז ימים (Israel: 117 days)

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

