Cutting losses

Whew, it’s been a long day. And at the end of the day, I decided to cut my losses. Let me explain.

I began the day with an early-day meeting of some of my students, getting me to the office by 07:20 when I normally get there at 08:30 or so. Nevertheless, I woke up only 15 minutes earlier than usual.

So, I spent the morning in the office, doing prep work and talking with a few colleagues about the meeting. I also helped out a few students who came to office hours and began critiquing some lab papers in my calculus class.

Lots of teaching to do today, and it was a lot of running around in my Finite Math class. I decided to change my plan on the answers-giving of the packet since they struggled with it, and thus chose to typeset full solutions rather than just non-graphical answers.

And boy, THIS was painful. I’m not very good at using TikZ for vector graphics in LaTeX, but thought that it would be the most express way to show the plots on the given grids that I gave.

This was a lot of hardcoding, and my original plan to get grading for my Applied Math class didn’t happen at all.

By 19:00, I had just finished the typesetting of that packet.

Obviously, after nearly 12 hours of work, I had no will to take any further work home. So I chose to cut my losses and live to fight (grade) another day!

You gotta know when to fold ’em sometimes…

===========================================

Road Trip: 25 days

פסח: מ”ח ימים (Passover: 48 days)

ארץ ישראל: ק”ב ימים (Israel: 102 days)

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

