Who are these guys?

A goal of many bloggers seems to be to get followers, especially if they are a commercialized blog. That is not necessarily my goal–I prefer quality over quantity. But some of the recent followers of my blog leave me very suspicious.

When I started blogging, I was writing for my family and Facebook friends. I gained a few followers, but they didn’t always seem like legitimate bloggers, but rather repositories of spam like “Hip Hop [something]” when I rarely listen to that type of music.

When I did some of Lorelle’s prompts, she often responded to me, and seemed to become a legitimate follower for a little while. Then, when I participated in “Zero to Hero” (now Blogging 101) at the beginning of 2014, I gained some legitimate followers, and also participated more in the social community of blogging during my M.M.X.I.V. challenge.

I rarely receive comments on my blog posts anymore, but occasionally receive likes, some which come from bloggers that I know about, but some from what appear to be spammers.

In particular, I have received three or four follows from “hitebook.net,” which has never left a like or a comment on my blog.

How can you claim to follow a personal blog if you never try to interact with the blogger? As I said at the beginning of the post, I prefer quality over quantity…

And though I might not read blog posts as often as I did, I still try to read them on occasion and comment whenever I do read them.

===========================================

פסח: כ”א ימים (Passover: 21 days)

ארץ ישראל: ע”ה ימים (Israel: 75 days)

blog signature

8 thoughts on “Who are these guys?

Let's have a conversation!

