Inbound or outbound?

Last week, I had my spring break trip to Nebraska, for the second time in as many years.

Yep, spring break means family or academic excursions for me. No sun, sex, surf, and sloshedness!

I drove from Kenosha to Omaha last Friday for a cousin’s בר מצווה (bar mitzvah) and then went to Lincoln. The drive included 2 gas stops, a pure washroom stop, and a food-and-relief stop.

Yesterday, I drove from Lincoln to Kenosha in “one fell swoop.” That is, the only stops I made were 2 gas stops and 3 stops at the john. (Obviously, I would be wise to avoid drinking tea on my next long drive!)

Nevertheless, the drives for both primary parts (i.e. KEN-OMA at the beginning and LNK-KEN at the end) both took on the order of 9.25 hours. This is despite the fact that my destination in Omaha and my origin in Lincoln were separated by about 50 miles!

It really shows how a non-fast-food eating stop can slow down a trip. Even if you go to a fast-casual place like Steak ‘n’ Shake (feel free to rebut this classification) as I did on the outbound.

But, it brings up a question, which was the main reason for the post:

If the inbound and outbound (from and to vacation) trips are the same distance or close to the same distance, which trip would you prefer to take less time?

I might not speak for everyone, but my assumption would be that people would rather have the return (inbound) trip be shorter time-wise, as sometimes the longer outbound trip is itself part of the vacation! Obviously, this wouldn’t apply if a Road Trip were the main purpose of the trip.

Luckily for me, it has been rare for an inbound trip to be more painful than an outbound trip. The exception that proves the rule, however, seemed to happen twice in fairly rapid succession in early 2009: once involving a plane flight and once involving a drive.

In fact, I might as well make this week’s posts about various things involving travel.

Ergo, please hold me accountable to the following posts:

  • Wednesday: My experiences with solo drives.
  • Thursday: Throwback Thursday to early 2009.

===========================================

פסח: י”ד ימים (Passover: 14 days)

ארץ ישראל: ס”ט ימים (Israel: 69 days)

blog signature

2 thoughts on “Inbound or outbound?

Let's have a conversation!

