Kitchen

Although there are few things that press my buttons, I find that reading comment threads tends to unnerve me, due to a lot of contentiousness between certain commenters. And the word “kitchen” in a comment is probably one of those as well. Let me explain.

This is no surprise to anyone, but I am a big sports fan, of both men’s and women’s sports. Ergo, I follow the ESPN Twitter account and occasionally read its tweets.

The replies to those tweets are often mentions of other people, off-topic remarks (e.g. “Don’t let that distract you from the fact that Golden State blew a 3-1 lead”), or other trollish behavior.

When the tweet is about women’s sports, the comments are often misogynistic, such as “Kitchen,” “Not a sport,” or other such put-downs.

The former, as my best guess, is supposed to mean that the responder thinks that the woman’s place is in the kitchen. Obviously, I do not subscribe to that theory.

I know that discretion is the better part of valor here, because though it makes me want to go to, say, an ESPN tweet about the NFL or NBA and send, “Not a sport” or “Garage” (i.e. the man’s place is in the garage), that makes me no better and just a misandronistic troll.

After all, I am a man and find myself fairly adept in the kitchen.

The danger of comment threads, and I have mentioned this before, is the anonymity of the commenters. They feel that they can troll freely and hide behind an alias. Though I occasionally read comment threads on things that interest me, I have to hold my emotions back, or else I would be just as bad as the trolls.

Yet, reporting the comments seems overkill. Or is it? Those comments ARE sexist and prejudiced.

===========================================

MAA Meeting: 4 days

ארץ ישראל: מ”ח ימים (Israel: 48 days)

אתמול היה שישה ימים לעומר

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

