Shades

This post was something which I planned on writing about during or just after my return from Lincoln, but clearly my blog has taken some minor hiatuses. Nevertheless, I’m still posting at least once a week, so is that winning?

Somehow I will still manage M.A.P.L.E. this year. I’ve come too far to quit!

But anyway, back to shades.

IMG_20170423_201011179

I just took this picture standing on my bed, looking out the window in my apartment. It’s dusky right now, and my shades are open.

The bedroom that I slept in when I lived in Lincoln is on the second floor of the house. Our neighborhood had no houses within details-oriented eyesight, and you probably wouldn’t be able to see in my bedroom anyway, even if the shades were up.

Ergo, for whatever reason, I preferred sleeping with the shades up, so that the moonlight and clear skies shined into my bedroom. This did not cause difficulty with my sleep schedule, and in some sense, I wonder if it may have contributed to my circadian rhythm!

When I lived at UNL, I had the shades closed most of the time during the night-time, because of the view from the other side of the building, but more importantly since I had a roommate.

At Northwestern, I left the shades open at night almost all of the time, hearkening back to my time in Lincoln, and there wouldn’t be much view of my apartment since (a) it was tiny and (b) it was nine storeys high!

But when I moved to Menomonie, the apartment was on the first floor. Though I wasn’t concerned about break-ins during the night, I still slept with the shades drawn all of the time there. What a pity.

Now that I am in Kenosha, with the apartment on the second floor, I somewhat randomly decide whether to have the shades open or closed at night. Again, the moonlight does not disrupt my sleep, nor does the street light as you can see in the picture.

Is it strange that I sleep with the shades open at night? Or do others do this too?

===========================================

Finals Week: 22 days

ארץ ישראל: מ”ח ימים (Israel: 42 days)

אתמול היה שנים-עשר יום–שהם שבוע אחד וחמישה ימים לעומר

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

