[M.A.P.L.E. VI-5] Two step

Yesterday, during office hours, I guided one of my students to the printer upstairs. As I was ascending the stairs much more slowly than I normally do, a blog post prompt came up for me! One great thing about M.A.P.L.E. (or M.M.X.I.V. for that matter) is/was that blogging every day gives me opportunities to look for small things to write about.

IMG_20170505_161208181_HDR

A staircase in the David Straz Center at Carthage College. 

Oftentimes, when I ascend stairs (particularly on my own), I will bound up two steps at a time.

The origin story for my bounding up the steps in this way is about 18 years old, and here it is:

When I was early in my seventh-grade year, there was a tour of the school or some reason that I was in a group, following one of the teachers. I noticed that he rather quickly ascended the stairs (specifically, the green staircase in the commons with the multilingual set of words for “Welcome” on it [I wonder if it still exists in that form?]), and I tried to imitate him by rapidly going up, one step at a time.

Well, I soon realized, the speed was from skipping steps, not from quickly taking steps! Therefore, I generally skip steps when ascending stairs, as it seems to make me go faster and I feel that it’s also a good stretch for the legs.

Descending, however, I don’t skip steps. I don’t want another Masada to happen from falling down the stairs!

Also, if I am lugging a bike or other heavy/awkward object up stairs, I will only go one riser at a time.

The things that I practice that I learnt or absorbed in middle school…

===========================================

Finals Week: 10 days

ארץ ישראל: ל ימים (Israel: 30 days)

אתמול היה ארבעה ועשרים יום–שהם שלושה שבועות ושלושה ימים לעומר

Today is the fifth day of the sixth round of M.A.P.L.E.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

