[M.A.P.L.E. VI-8] Meatless Monday

I have heard of some people instituting “Meatless Mondays” on their weekly food schedules. I don’t subscribe to this trend, but what I cooked today was indeed meatless, and I wanted to share a picture of it. Yeah, I’m joining the insufferable ranks of the foodstagrammers, even though I refuse to get Instagram.

(Nevertheless, it seems that each of my M.A.P.L.E. posts this year rate to have photographic accompaniment. Maybe I should make that my theme of this year’s edition!)

IMG_20170508_184348293

Yep, a vegetarian chili, and my first time using a crock pot to make chili. (Each previous time that I made chili, I used a regular pot and made it as a beef chili).

The recipe that I used follows (modified from a recipe on morningstarfarms.com):

Ingredients

  • 1 small yellow onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped or minced
  • 3 cans (14.5 oz each) diced tomatoes (not drained)
  • 1 can (15 oz) kidney beans (rinse and drain)
  • 1.5 cup tomato juice
  • 12 oz meatless “beef” crumbles (e.g. Morningstar Farms Meal Starters Grillers Recipe Crumbles)
  • 1/2 of a zucchini, chopped*
  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp cayenne powder
  • 1 tsp brown sugar

Procedure:

  1. Add all ingredients to the crock pot
  2. Set on LOW and forget it while you go to work
  3. Come back to work and get the wonderful smell of chili filling your apartment or house.
    1. And it tastes just as good as a meaty chili!

Maybe at some point I’ll try to make a meat-based chili in the crock pot… or simply repeat this recipe. I might even try it during the summer, as most of my food preferences are independent of the weather!

===========================================

Finals Week: 7 days

ארץ ישראל: כ”ז ימים (Israel: 27 days)

אתמול היה שיבעה ועשרים יום–שהם שלושה שבועות ושישה ימים לעומר

Today is the eighth day of the sixth round of M.A.P.L.E.: one week and one day.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

