[M.A.P.L.E. VI-10] The full moon

And on the full moon, werewolves shall emerge and things will go crazy.

OK, so I hope that’s not really the case. But, from the comment that Maggie Wilson left on my blog yesterday and another event or two of today, I just have to extend the “OOPS” game.

Her comment was, “Blame the OOPSes on the full moon. That’s my story for anything that goes sideways today.”

Let me first give two more OOPSes that occurred today, and maybe I will blame it on the full moon… after all, the picture below indicates an excuse that I MIGHT be changing into a werewolf… and I will show a picture of said werewolfness on Friday’s or Saturday’s blog post.

I had my last lecture for my Applied Math course today. The first half went fairly swimmingly, talking about the Hill-Huntington method of apportionment.

But in the second half of the lecture, things fell apart.

I wrote fractions upside down (i.e. 3/2 when I meant to write 2/3), I wrote an upside-down fraction upside down (i.e. I wrote a/p for both representative share and district population when the latter is p/a instead), and I boldly claimed that 19/5=4.8, to totally throw off my explanation of equitable apportionment methods, among many other errors.

Though it’s never good to suffer a trainwreck lecture, at least this was toward the end when I’ve already built trust and rapport with my students.

And the other OOPS: having to bring my lunch of chili and mashed potatoes to my non-lecture session of calculus since I had a meeting and no time to grab my food before going to said meeting.

“Blame it on the full moon.” More specifically, I will blame it on the Ides of Iyar!

(However, I did a cursory thing of research and found that the Ides of March was a last-quarter moon, rather than a full moon. Hmm…)

IMG_20170510_221626814

===========================================

Finals Week: 5 days

ארץ ישראל: כ”ה ימים (Israel: 25 days)

אתמול היה תשעה ועשרים יום–שהם ארבעה שבועות ויום אחד לעומר

Today is the tenth day of the sixth round of M.A.P.L.E.: one week and three days.

blog signature

2 thoughts on “[M.A.P.L.E. VI-10] The full moon

Let's have a conversation!

