[M.A.P.L.E. VI-16] Walking tacos

On Sunday night, I volunteered for the Late Night Breakfast at Carthage: an event where students get to eat free food of the breakfast-style variety the night before finals begin.

Last semester, I worked at the popular Crepes station, and this time, I worked at the New Place: the Walking Tacos station. Yes… even though I wouldn’t consider that breakfast food.

Nevertheless, the bar spurred my dinner for Monday, as well as a blog post for Tuesday. Ha!

When I was younger, my family had tacos for dinner quite often, and I was fond of Mom’s tacos with ground beef, no other toppings, put in Old El Paso hard shells.

One year when we went to the Nebraska State Fair, one of the food vendors was selling walking tacos, which  I didn’t really think much about… until Mom used the idea one night for our dinner. We got our choice of chips with which to put the taco meat into a small bag of chips.

My favorites for that were Cheetos or Fritos, and this became a staple family dinner, not necessarily just on Tuesday nights.

There was a time in either 1998 or 1999 at the house on Happy Hollow when I had a walking taco experience nearly turn into an EVACUATE-EVACUATE!! situation: we had leftover taco meat in the fridge, and I wanted to make a walking taco. So I put the meat in a Fritos bag (yes, it’s got foil on the inside of the bag), started the microwave for 10 seconds, and after seeing some sparks after 1 or 2 seconds, quickly turned the microwave off.

Whew… that was a near disaster averted! (As it turns out, a few years ago, someone blew out a microwave in Northwestern’s Tech building with aluminium inside, and set off fire alarms in the whole building (of course). Thankfully, I didn’t panic harshly.

Fast forward to this bar from Sunday, and then Monday’s dinner. My original plan was a taco bell (i.e. taco meat in a bell pepper), but instead I used the Fritos bags… NO MICROWAVE, and a combination of Holy Tamole Mild and Hot Salsas.

Alas… this is not a sponsored post, as Holy Tamole is no longer in business.

IMG_20170515_192925725

===========================================

ארץ ישראל: י”ט ימים (Israel: 19 days)

(Dirty?) Thirty: 48 days

אתמול היה חמישה ושלושים יום–שהיו חמישה שבועות ימים לעומר

Today is the sixteenth day of the sixth round of M.A.P.L.E.: two weeks and two days.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

