[M.A.P.L.E. VI-21] Blurple!

This photo has me, donned in academic regalia, with the Northwestern colors that I received as a gift that will be used at least twice a year. It’s another chance to show me in Northwestern regalia after my triumph of two years ago.

IMG_20170521_101510215

However, the photo doesn’t really show the purple very well: it looks more blurple!

There are some colors that don’t translate well on screens or photos. Many times, purple looks more blue or fuchsia when given in a photo. I remember when I was at the Kansas State vs. Nebraska women’s basketball game, and when I looked at the Jumbotron, the purple all looked blue. Had we been transported from Manhattan to Lawrence? :p

Anyway, I really enjoyed the Carthage graduation ceremony. It marks the first time that I’ve been at a graduation ceremony that is for nobody that I know that closely. (There were a few times that I ushered prior to the ceremonies at Northwestern, though I didn’t stay for the actual ceremony).

While I’m on the topic, I wonder if there are unwritten rules about applause during the calling of names. I remember that when I was at Southeast High School, the common courtesy was to avoid boisterous cheers when someone’s name was called, though I think that there was scattered, respectful applause. I don’t know if the “rules” are different at college or graduate-school graduations, but I gave respectful applause for names of math majors or student-athletes that I knew. There were a few air horns and boisterous cheers for some people, which sometimes created an annoyance (but no big disruption).

This post has definitely turned into a stream of consciousness, but it opens up a lot of possible topics. The ceremony ended with President Woodward’s remarks of the post-graduation question, and the powerful three-word response: “I don’t know.”

What will you be doing next? “I don’t know.”

Where will you be in ten years? “I don’t know.”

Why is admitting lack of knowledge powerful? “I don’t know.”

How do I make posts go from one darned thing to the next so seamlessly, or maybe so choppily? I don’t know!

===========================================

ארץ ישראל: י”ד ימים (Israel: 14 days)

Lincoln: 26 days

(Dirty?) Thirty: 43 days

אתמול היה ארבעים יום–שהיו חמישה שבועות וחמישה ימים לעומר

Today is the twenty-first day of the sixth round of M.A.P.L.E.: three weeks.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

