[M.A.P.L.E. VI-23] Circa fifty miles

Depending on where you are, a drive of around fifty miles can provide much different time frames.

Much of that can vary, depending on speed limits and traffic. This post, in some sense, reflects on why I am sometimes hesitant to drive to Milwaukee or Chicago for JUST an evening.

When I lived in Lincoln, I sometimes drove down to Bellevue on Thursday night for Pokemon League. From my house in Lincoln to the League in Bellevue, on Fort Crook Road North, (of which I can’t recall the name of the venue, though I think said venue has closed in the last 7 years), it was about 50 miles of a drive, and took about 65 minutes.

Other Omaha-region activities I would have no qualms with driving to either, whether it be sporting events, family get-togethers, or other things. The drive was easy, and I was never stuck in traffic on a freeway.

Last September, I drove to Milwaukee from Kenosha, which was about 40 miles, and took about 60 minutes on the northbound and 45 minutes on the southbound. Obviously I hit rush hour on the former! It was nice to have dinner with Molly and Aunt Soni that night, and Aunt Soni encouraged me to consider driving up to Milwaukee for an evening’s dinner at some point. (I have not yet obliged in that sense…)

For Dina’s birthday, I made a special trip down to Deerfield for her birthday dinner, and returned to Kenosha that same evening. I mostly avoided traffic problems, since I exited the freeway while still in the suburbian stretch. Yet, the drive took a while since I had to get gas before leaving Kenosha!

And today, I decided to drive to Ken’s Diner in Skokie for Pokemon League (yes, the post comes full-circle!) I left at 16:15, expecting to arrive at 17:30.

NOOOOOPE!

Once I got past the Waukegan Road exit on the Edens, traffic was parking-lot style as I was moving a couple of feet a second, rather than 55+ miles an hour. I don’t know what caused the snag, whether there was an incident up ahead or whether I just picked a bad time to come.

I’ve said before that it takes me about an hour and five minutes on a good day to get to Evanston/Skokie from Kenosha, and an hour and thirty on a bad day.

Today was a REALLY bad day: the elapsed time was 1 hour and 46 minutes!

The annoyance of traffic might be one of my biggest dissuasions from going to Evanston, Chicago, or Milwaukee for just an evening.

However, I realize that this is First World Problems and that I should check my privilege at the door…

===========================================

ארץ ישראל: י”ב ימים (Israel: 12 days)

Lincoln: 24 days

(Dirty?) Thirty: 41 days

אתמול היה שניים וארבעים יום–שהיו שישה שבועות לעומר

Today is the twenty-third day of the sixth round of M.A.P.L.E.: three weeks and two days.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

