[M.A.P.L.E. VI-27] More Sufferable

By sufferable, I really mean the opposite of insufferable. I suppose that a better term to use would be “tolerable.” Today’s post is based on some of the activities for today.

Subtitle: Waiting Rooms and Clothes.

Tomorrow, I am going to a wedding of one of Dina’s cousins. Dina went to get her nails and hair done today (her preferred salons are closed tomorrow), and I patiently waited while she got those beautifications done.

When I was younger, I never liked waiting for haircuts or doctors’ appointments or other things. With my journal, smartphone, and/or magazines that are in the waiting area, I avoid boredom and have few, if any, problems waiting now. Particularly since I had no other agenda today…

We then went to DSW for her to get shoes for tomorrow, and she knew exactly what she wanted, so it wasn’t a “traditional” shoe-shopping excursion where the trip is interminable.

Afterward, I got a choice of shopping, because I was in the mood to get some new summer shorts (the last time I got new shorts for summer was 9 years ago—several of them have either worn out or didn’t really fit in the first place). We went to Kohl’s, which reminds me of the time that Mom took me on a trip during high school or early college, and it was not fun for me.

Today, it was perfectly fine, if a little annoying trying to find the correct sizes (I’m still that unhappy medium: too skinny for some men’s pants but too large for kids’ sizes). I managed to find some 30-waist sizes which worked, and also got three “Hawaii” shirts to replenish my stock on those. It’s unofficially summer, so I might as well be festive!

Today’s trip really shows another sign of how much I have matured. It is in stark contrast to when I was younger, with examples of our Caribbean trip in 2001, where I got very antsy after Mom and the others had spent a long time in jewelry stores or other stores. I wanted to keep moving back then.

Nowadays, I am much more patient, and my fuse is longer. I haven’t had a meltdown or a shutdown since I-can’t-remember, excluding psychosomatic stomachaches which make me leave a party.

===========================================

ארץ ישראל: ח’ ימים (Israel: 8 days)

Lincoln: 20 days

(Dirty?) Thirty: 37 days

אתמול היה שישה וארבעים יום–שהיו שישה שבועות וארבעה ימים לעומר

Today is the twenty-seventh day of the sixth round of M.A.P.L.E.: three weeks and six days.

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

