[M.A.P.L.E. VI-30] 47-0-2

The title sounds like either a locker permutation on a larger lock than the standard 40-digit lock, or a win-loss-tie record. It turns out to be the latter!

And it has a picture associated with it, along with a brief reflection.

IMG_20170530_090201559

For each of the days of M.A.P.L.E., as well as mid-and-late April posts, my end-matter has included a sentence in Hebrew. That sentence translated to the following:

“Yesterday was n days, which comprised x weeks and y days of the omer.”

It is Jewish tradition to count each day between the second seder of Passover and the eve of Shavuot, which is a period of 49 days. It is based on a reading in the Torah, and one is supposed to count each evening after nightfall, and recite a blessing prior to counting if no days have been missed.

In the case that you fail to count at night, but remember before the succeeding nightfall, you may count the missed day without a blessing, and then continue counting on that night and subsequent nights with a blessing.

If you completely miss one day, you may count on subsequent nights, but lose the privilege to recite a blessing with the count.

This year was the first time that I successfully made it to the end without completely missing a day, and I only missed two nights, as shown in my count there. The first miss was on April 21 (the 10th night) because I was pretty tired from a long day of teaching and a conference, and when I woke up, realized that I forgot to count the previous night.

The second miss was on last Wednesday, and I have no valid excuse for that one! Granted, the board was not updated daily since it was at the office, and I almost never go in on the weekends. I did have a calendar to mark down each day, as well as marking it in my journal.

One thing that I like about this ritual is the adherence to schedule that it “forces” upon me. It gives me some time to count and reflect each night, and since I want to keep track of each day, it encourages me to be diligent about journaling or marking a reminder down.

We’ll see if I can make it 49-0-0 next year. Maybe I’ll also do additional reflections on this period in certain blog posts. Some of the reflections that I saw this year included “Counting the Bromer” where different people reflected on facial hair (or lack thereof), inspired by an idea by Rabbi Brandon Bernstein.  Or, my friend Abi Weber has done “Dog B’Omer” for a few years, showing a different picture of dog(s) each day.

===========================================

ארץ ישראל: ה’ ימים (Israel: 5 days)

Lincoln: 17 days

(Dirty?) Thirty: 34 days

Today is the thirtieth day of the sixth round of M.A.P.L.E.: four weeks and two days.

Let's have a conversation!

