Once in N years

When I have kibitzed Howard Schutzman’s (Hondo717) bridge sessions on Bridge Base, he sometimes tells us of the hands which are likely to come up “once every five years.”

Well, I have a question for my readers who play bridge. A bidding quiz, if you will. And it came from my dealing-and-bidding simulator that I am working on alongside my summer SURE student.

You (East) hold:

SPADES: QJ82

HEARTS: 92

DIAMONDS: J

CLUBS: KJ6543

The auction has proceeded (hope the formatting stays):

South   West    North   East

Pass      2C*      Pass      2D**

Pass      3NT     Pass      ???

(*) Strong, artificial, forcing

(**) Artificial, waiting: any shape, any strength

3NT shows 25-27 points.

WHAT IS YOUR CALL?

(Note: I would interpret 4NT as a natural quantitative invite to 6NT.)

===========================================

MathFest: 2 days

Nebraska Regional: 14 days

Semester Kickoff: 44 days

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

