Conferences

I was at the MAA MathFest yesterday and today. When I go to professional conferences, I invariably focus on going to as many talks that sound interesting.

However, it seems like a greedy algorithm that might only succeed in burning me out.

A few of my colleagues suggested using it more as a chance to catch up with former colleagues. I also know it is an important networking opportunity, but I find it more difficult to organically create conversation in professional situations than in casual situations.

Why, though? Impostor syndrome? Situational shyness? Something else?

Let's have a conversation!

