[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. VI-4] Barrier breaker

Activation energy is a concept in chemistry. It basically states that a reaction must overcome a certain barrier in energy in order to get started, and often then, it requires less energy to keep going.

(And I wouldn’t be surprised if I am badly butchering this.)

But, it’s a common concept in everyday situations too.

One of the hardest things in life to do is to get started on something, whether that be a project, a new class, a relationship, a job search, or a new hobby.

Once you get started, it is sometimes easier to continue and do more with it.

During the summer, I wanted to edit my job search materials so as to have them ready to send out in early September.

I puttered around with editing them during my vacation in Lincoln, and nibbled at them during the rest of August, finally getting a rough draft done near the end of the month.

Though I heeded some of the feedback and revised, I sought more feedback and revised some more. I could have sent out some applications in mid-September, but for some reason waited until yesterday.

But, now that I have sent out the first few applications, it will make it much easier (mentally) for me to persist with more applications. It’s going to be a good evening activity at home.

As an old proverb says, “The journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” And that single step is sometimes the hardest one to take!

===========================================

Today is the fourth day of the sixth round of O.C.T.O.B.E.R.

Green Bay/St. Norbert: 30 days

Minneapolis: 37 days

Lincoln: 80 days

blog signature

Let's have a conversation!

