[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. VI-8] Nary a cloud #writephoto

Looking at the “Glade” prompt, I decided to talk about today, as well as a cloudless day from 2001. Today’s activity wasn’t really through any Glades, but the 2001 story will be… although even that isn’t probably glades. Take it for what it’s worth…

Photo courtesy Sue Vincent.

2017: Along the Evanston lakefront

Yesterday had clouds and rain in the late-day, in addition to figurative clouds over Evanston as Penn State clobbered Northwestern in football. The clouds continued figuratively in Lincoln, as after Nebraska rallied to tie Wisconsin at 17-17 in football, the Badgers vaunted run game ran roughshod over the hapless Nebraska defense, in speeding ahead to hand Nebraska a 17-38 defeat.

Today, there was not a cloud in the sky in Evanston. I got some grading done before Dina got up, and after we made pancakes for breakfast, and watched coverage of the Chicago Marathon, decided to take a walk ourselves.

We walked along the Evanston lakefront, and chatted about new Evanston restaurants, fitness equipment, the lake itself, and various memories associated with walking. And holiday plans… which will probably have me reducing my Thanksgiving-with-family percentage from 96 to 93 this year (prior to 2015, the percentage was 100).

One of the memories brought up was the cloudless 48 hours after my dissertation defense, but I’d rather share a memory from many more years ago.

2001: Wilderness Park

During late October of my ninth-grade year, Lincoln Public Schools had a scheduled fall break of an entire week. On the Tuesday of that week, Dad had his usual Tuesday off, and he took all of my siblings and me to Wilderness Park in Lincoln, and we walked along the tortuous and uneven trail. I don’t know what I thought about it at the time, but it was a good way to get out of the house.

During that time in my life, I was very much a social hermit. I never sought out social opportunities other than the Pokemon TCG League, and mostly stayed to myself, other than “forced” interactions at school. My enjoyment of bike-riding and going to Jewish events had not emerged yet.

I don’t remember my specific feelings about the hike, but Dad took us all out to Pizza Hut afterward. But I remember it not tasting very good. Perhaps it just didn’t hit the spot that day, or perhaps my taste buds were off that day.

Another thing that I recall about that day: when we got back, I got online and started to create a game show bulletin board, which had a few discussions for a while before I gave it up about a year later.

It’s interesting how things develop over the course of time, and how both of these much different stories are related by cloudless skies.

===========================================

Today is the seventh day of the sixth round of O.C.T.O.B.E.R.

Green Bay/St. Norbert: 26 days

Minneapolis: 33 days

Lincoln: 76 days

blog signature

7 thoughts on “[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. VI-8] Nary a cloud #writephoto

Let's have a conversation!

