[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. VI-15] We’ll all stick together in all kinds of weather

The line given here is one of the lines in the University of Nebraska school song “Dear Old Nebraska U.” It was quite applicable about more than just Nebraska yesterday, and points out my loyalty to individuals and entities that are salient to me.

The song talks about “all kinds of weather.” As a school song which is played more like a fight song, it is probably referring to the good and bad weather in the sense of sports fandom. In other words, obeying that song prevents one from being a “fair weather fan.”

And boy… I was not a fair-weather fan by ANY denotation or connotation of the word yesterday!

As mentioned in yesterday’s blog post, the Carthage football game was delayed due to a thunderstorm. The game got going at 14:15, and I got there about 10 minutes prior to kickoff.

A steady mist sometimes became heavier throughout the game, and my rain coat was the wrong color (it was blue, and the Carthage Red Men were playing against the Elmhurst Blue Jays). Nevertheless, my color choice didn’t affect the game’s proceedings at all.

img_20171014_143345093_hdr1960990166.jpg

Normally, they charge admission to Carthage football games. But there was nobody selling tickets today (probably as a goodwill gesture for those hardy fans willing to fight the weather). Of course, I wouldn’t have had to pay anyway–Carthage faculty and students get into all games for free.

Shortly after I arrived, Carthage’s president, John Swallow, walked along the front row, thanking people for coming despite the weather.

Yep, I am not a fair weather fan! Since there was no lightning, rain wasn’t going to keep me away.

Granted, I did abdicate with 2 minutes left, since the Red Men were just taking victory formation for a 31-8 win over the Blue Jays, and I wanted to get home as quickly as possible in case of further weather developments. (There was a thunderstorm later that night, indeed…)

From what I saw on TV, the weather (air conditions) were quite reasonable in Lincoln for the Ohio State football game. But the weather was quite stormy. Nebraska went scoreless in the first half of the game, and the defense put up no resistance–every Ohio State drive went for a touchdown and they were perfect on third downs as well to virtually never face a last-down situation.

Though the Huskers put up two touchdowns in the second half, the game was well-over, and many of the fans had streamed out at halftime, not to return.

If I were at that game, though I would have been disgusted, I would have stayed to the final whistle (unless a thunderstorm was potentially imminent). I’ve stayed to the end of many blowout losses (and wins) as a result of my loyalty to the team. Granted, there have been some games that I have left early as a result of weather conditions (i.e. imminent storms), or more frequently, student organization activities or intramural sports.

Still, I believe in the hashtag #RealHuskersStay. (Well, change that to #RealFansStay). Dina and I have been to several blowout White Sox losses last season, but we never left early.

===========================================

Today is the fifteenth day of the sixth round of O.C.T.O.B.E.R. That makes two weeks.

Green Bay/St. Norbert: 19 days

Minneapolis: 26 days

Lincoln: 69 days

blog signature

2 thoughts on “[O.C.T.O.B.E.R. VI-15] We’ll all stick together in all kinds of weather

  1. Thanks, Robbie. Indeed, if you watch sports, you see some games that you want to leave early. But, my policy is that I budgeted the time for the game into my schedule, so I’ll see it to its completion (with exceptions for extenuating circumstances like pre-planned activities or thunderstorms).

    Like

Let's have a conversation!

