Revisited

There are a few different ideas behind the title of this post.

The most obvious one is that the blog is being revisited for the first time in more than a month!

The countdown to the wedding in my last blog post was 16 days, and of course that meant everything got busy. Hopefully with the wedding over, I can get back to some sort of blogging routine!

In recent times, when I have driven to or from work, rather than having the radio on, I have used the Paramount Plus app to follow along with recent episodes of “The Price Is Right” or “Let’s Make A Deal.” Obviously, though, I’m only listening, which makes some of the games hard to follow along to. Nevertheless, it’s fun!

On Friday, though, I listened to my MP3s rather than listen to the radio. Several songs that I haven’t heard in a long while came up, and reminded me of older times, as well as reminding me that it’s good to have a large rotation so that the songs don’t get old. A few examples:

  • “Runnin’ Down A Dream” by Tom Petty came up right around the same time of year that it got randomly stuck in my head: near the start of Spring Break in 2010: my first year at Northwestern.
  • “Kids in America” by Kim Wilde reminded me of when I particularly liked the song in college, and called B107.3 to add it to a “Famous Names Friday” list when it wasn’t on that list of Kims.
  • “Don’t Tell Me You Love Me” by Night Ranger was one of my favorite songs that the LSE Band of DOOM played when I was in high school.
  • “Counting Stars” as arranged by ShireiNU in 2013: the anthem song of the year for me.
  • “Postcard From The Volcano” by Group 87 was one of my favorite songs that I discovered on WNUR, and somewhat appropriate given the episode of “The Bachelor” that we saw last week.

========================================

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is blog-signature.png

Overland Park: 11 days

Final Exams: 46 days

Milwaukee: 95 days

Let's have a conversation!