[M.M.X.I.V. 95] The dancing feet

Today’s Daily Prompt is called “Express Yourself,” but rather than posting a link to the Madonna song, I’ll post something else… which is more in line with what I decided to write about!

This video was taken by my Aunt Lori on December 27, 2011, when Nebraska played its first-ever Big Ten Conference men’s basketball game against Wisconsin.  I was in town for the winter break, and it was a lot of fun to be there.  The video shows me dancing to the band’s rendition of Pat Benatar’s “Heartbreaker.”

The dancing at sporting events was a result of me liking the songs that the band played when I was in high school.  Some of the songs I didn’t recognize as anything that I had heard on the radio, and even some of the radio songs sounded better as pep band numbers.  During my early years of sports fandom (i.e. high school), although I enjoyed the music, I didn’t really dance to it much, particularly at boys’ basketball games because there was no room to dance!

My favorite dance-to-the-band in high school was at football games, when they would do drum cadences.  In some sense, the moves I did on these evolved into the more intricate (?) routines that I developed in college.

At the University of Nebraska, my usual spot at the men’s basketball games was on the east side of the Bob Devaney Sports Center, in the first row of bleachers directly behind the basket.  Because this region generally had a little bit of buffer space (due to others not wanting that sort of view), I got sufficient space to dance to the band’s numbers.  In my first season, the highlight songs were “KC and the Sunshine Band Medley,” “Fire,” “Offspring Medley” and “I Can’t Turn You Loose.”

Not all of the songs became ingrained in me, as some of them I improvised the choreographies each time.  At Northwestern, I admit that some of the songs I have not developed well-choreographed routines yet, but it is just fun getting up and moving to the music.  The aforementioned songs, however, did get a regular routine.

Other “Noah dance specialties” that got added to my repertoire during my time at UNL included “The Time Warp” (note: dancing to the beat of a different drummer–I have never seen The Rocky Horror Picture Show), “Heartbreaker” (as shown above), and a few others that I can’t recall off the top of my head.  By my sophomore year, people got to know me and I became fairly well-known in the Nebraska basketball circle.

Of course, I don’t dance for the notoriety.  It is fun to move to the music that the band plays, and in some sense, it is indeed an expression of my eccentric personality.

I should also say that in general, I am much more expressive to band music than canned music, with a couple of notable exceptions.  Since my junior year at UNL (or maybe earlier), the song “Can You Feel It” by King of House has led off each football and men’s basketball game.  It is a Husker tradition for the bench to lift their helmets in the air for the opening kickoff, and I substituted my hard hat for a football helmet whenever that song plays… even if not at kickoff.

At Northwestern football games, the fourth quarter is preceded by the song “Put Your Hands Up In The Air” by Danzel, and in addition to following those instructions, it includes a hard-hat pumping.

How much fun it can be to engage in the crowd at sporting events!

===========================

Today is the ninety-fifth day of M.M.X.I.V.  That makes thirteen weeks and four days.

Other responses to the prompt as of 16:39, CDT, on 6 April 2014:

  1. Freedom in a pen | MC’s Whispers
  2. YouTube Clips: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA’S BLOG: IT’LL BLOW YOUR MIND!
  3. Jamming | Knowledge Addiction
  4. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself! | The WordPress C(h)ronicle
  5. The Match (Part 5) 40 Acres | The Jittery Goat
  6. Singing All The Way | Knowledge Addiction
  7. DP Daily Prompt: Express Yourself! | Sabethville
  8. Write to Heal | From Hiding to Blogging
  9. Xi’an, the Place with Enriched Stories | From Hiding to Blogging
  10. Taipei – a Mesmerizing City | From Hiding to Blogging
  11. Broken Dreams? | Tale of Two Tomatoes
  12. Daily prompt – Express yourself! | myjourneyeveryday
  13. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself! | benjaminsolak
  14. Bed Talks | Views Splash!
  15. The Creator God and His Gift to Us | meanderedwanderings
  16. Express Yourself | Dragon Droppings
  17. Express Yourself | Lisa’s Kansa Muse
  18. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself-Is it Children’s Obligation to Take Care of Their Parents? | Journeyman
  19. I teach! | Purplesus’ Blog
  20. Quadruple Threat [Intimate Sessions] | She Writes
  21. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself! | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice
  22. Building Blocks of a Project | Photography Journal Blog
  23. More than an Expression…an Extension of Me | snapshotsofawanderingheart
  24. E Is For Expressing Yourself | My Little Avalon
  25. My Games… | from dusk to dawn….
  26. Creativity in pranks, viruses and retaliation: This week’s weird and wacky news « psychologistmimi
  27. Reach High | Flowers and Breezes
  28. Freedom In Expression | Coffee With Jesus
  29. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself! | seikaiha’s blah-blah-blah
  30. DAILY PROMPT: Express Yourself | Melissa Holden
  31. My dog doesn’t see the point of leg weaves |
  32. 8 things I have to say about debate | Never Stationary
  33. A Small Guest With a Box of Sweets | wisskko’s blog
  34. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself! | thechangingpalette
  35. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself! | I Just Like Doing Them | Shawn Daily
  36. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  37. Sunset Over India | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  38. Daily Prompt Express Yourself : Joy | Angela McCauley
  39. Please Don’t Call Me A Writer
  40. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | Words4jp’s Blog
  41. Therapy | In the Present
  42. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | That Montreal Girl
  43. Daily Prompt: Express yourself | A cup of noodle soup
  44. Express Yourself | Kimmiecode
  45. Daily prompt: Express yourself! | Go, See, Live
  46. Express Yourself | The Land Slide Photography
  47. you keep me at varying | y
  48. No Such Thing as Self-Expression | Author Laura Lee
  49. Comin’ Through the Rye | Speculative Paradigm Shifts
  50. Ex-press-ion | I’m a Writer, Yes I Am
  51. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | gracenorcott
  52. my purpose | peacefulblessedstar
  53. Persuing Perfection | The Ravenously Disappearing Woman
  54. Poetry that doesn’t challenge my brain | The Salmon Yatra
  55. One’s Creative Expression | Cats, Coffee, And Life At Random
  56. Creative me | Emovere
  57. This is my guilty pleasure | Always Expressive
  58. This Is It | djgarcia94
  59. Expression IS Art. Period. | A.C. Melody
  60. Expressing Myself | Blogging Astrid
  61. Taking Liberties in London | Travel with Intent
  62. This is me (Mirror Me) | zaphnathpaaneah
  63. Errrrr…. | Random & Real
  64. Happy Little Clouds | Overcoming Bloglessness
  65. Bad results | Life is great
  66. Express Yourself « Land Of Mike
  67. Daily prompt : Express yourself | La chica de la burbuja
  68. Express Yourself! | artymaz’s inky fingers
  69. Fractals and Poems Delight and Amuse, But My Favourite Thing? Which One Should I Choose? | lynnesartandsoul
  70. Words Without Voice | Polymathically
  71. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself | Be Good.
  72. Express Yourself: The Most beautiful Thing | Living with Post Concussion Syndrome
  73. Expressing | Little Stories
  74. Ready, Set, Cook! – Daily Prompt | Bits & Pieces
  75. Suicide no. 38: The Informant | derekalanwilkinson
  76. Even Though It’s Breaking | Wiley’s Wisdom
  77. Words on Paper | swiggityswag
  78. Sunset Over India | korasunil15
  79. E is for Expression | Holoholo Girls
  80. DP Express Yourself: From Horace to Harry | Ali Abbas
  81. I Dance | New Beginnings
  82. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself! | Basically Beyond Basic
  83. Belated but then that’s me | moving in time
  84. THAT’S ME | mnemosynesandlethe
  85. Daily Prompt: Express Yourself! | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  86. Daily Prompt: Being Expressive! | All Things Cute and Beautiful

17 thoughts on “[M.M.X.I.V. 95] The dancing feet

    • Thanks, Ali! One of my aunts took that footage, and after I left Nebraska, they continue the choreography of “heartbreaker, dream maker, love taker…” that I have from there.

      Like

Let's have a conversation!