[M.A.P.L.E. XIII-4] The Decider

I’m not talking about someone or something to cure indecision.

Instead, it’s the part of sports to decide a winner. This could be the winner of the game (e. g. a fifth set in volleyball), a championship game, etc. I’ll give a story of the latter.

It was May 19, a good number of years ago. School that day was pretty uneventful. As the school year was winding down, I didn’t have much homework to do.

During that evening, Mom and Dad had some family activity for us, but I warned them that I wanted to go to the State Boys Soccer championship.

The evening was a somewhat reenactment of their first date, as it started at a corner in our old neighborhood, with a street named the same as where they met in a different city.

In their first date, they were at a party, which was not the next stop. Instead, it was at Perkins (48th and O). Allegedly, their dinner was also at a Perkins, but it was a different restaurant then versus the modern breakfast place. I could easily be misremembering the story.

I left dinner not long before the rest of the family finished… yay for having my own transportation! To Seacrest Field for the Decider!

I got there in time, and it was actually my first soccer game for my school of that year. Yeah, call me a bandwagon supporter that year, but the next year I was a true diehard!

The most memorable parts of the match included the fact that I wore a blanket as a cape, partially because the evening was a little chilly. The opponents knocked in the only goal of the match midway through the second half, but our team had a spirited last ditch effort in the minute before full time.

Although that match ended in defeat, it sparked my spirit to become the definitive superfan that my school has ever seen.

Come to think of it, I don’t remember seeing many of the Basketball and Football DFA [Dedicated Fan Association = Rowdies] members at that game…

So many times in the following year, even if I wasn’t in the DFA, I was often a solo student section!

Let's have a conversation!